Harris County Department of Education **Minutes of Emergency Board Meeting** September 1, 2017

The Harris County Board of School Trustees met in an Emergency Meeting on September 1, 2017 in the lobby of the Administration Building, at 6300 Irvington Boulevard, Houston, Texas. Louis D. Evans III, Board President, called the meeting to order at 6:05 p.m. and declared a quorum present, that the meeting was duly called in accordance with Gov't. Code Sections 551.125 and 551.045 to address damage caused and anticipated to be caused by Hurricane Harvey and its aftermath, and that notice of the meeting was posted in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act.

Board Members Present Louis Evans, Board President; Erica Lee Carter; George Moore;

via telephone conference

Don Sumners: Diane Trautman and Mike Wolfe

call:

Eric Dick, Board Vice-President, appeared via telephone

conference call at 6:10 p.m.

Board Members

Absent:

None

Board Attorney: Sarah Langlois

Administration: James Colbert, Jr., County School Superintendent (present via

telephone conference call); Jesus Amezcua, CPA, Assistant

Superintendent for Business Services:

Greg Lookabaugh, Executive Director Facilities

Visitors: None

In accordance with Tex. Gov't. Code Section 551.125, The open portions of the meeting were audible to the public at the location specified in the notice and were

recorded.

AGENDA

 Adoption of Resolution declaring emergency under Texas Education Code Section 44.031(h) and delegating authority to Superintendent to procure and to contract for goods and services necessary to repair and remediate storm damage.

Motion made by Louis Evans, seconded by Eric Dick to adopt a Resolution declaring emergency under Texas Education Code Section 44.031(h) and delegating authority to Superintendent to procure and to contract for goods and services necessary to repair and remediate storm damage.

Motion passes with 7-0 voting to adopt the Resolution.

ADJOURN

Notion made by Diane Trautman, seconded by Don Sumners to adjourn the meeting Notion passes with 7-0 voting to adjourn. The meeting adjourned at 6:33 p.m.	
	Board President
	Board Secretary